Book Review: Made You Up by Francesca Zappia

About the book:

Reality, it turns out, is often not what you perceive it to be—sometimes, there really is someone out to get you. For fans of Silver Linings Playbook and Liar, this thought-provoking debut tells the story of Alex, a high school senior—and the ultimate unreliable narrator—unable to tell the difference between real life and delusion.

Alex fights a daily battle to figure out what is real and what is not. Armed with a take-no-prisoners attitude, her camera, a Magic 8 Ball, and her only ally (her little sister), Alex wages a war against her schizophrenia, determined to stay sane long enough to get into college. She’s pretty optimistic about her chances until she runs into Miles. Didn’t she imagine him? Before she knows it, Alex is making friends, going to parties, falling in love, and experiencing all the usual rites of passage for teenagers. But Alex is used to being crazy. She’s not prepared for normal. Can she trust herself? Can we trust her?


I am happy to say that this book is like nothing you’ve read before. The prologue was weird but choking and it’s what sets the different parts of the book as you’ll see when you read it. It’s all about the lobsters, they trapped in a tank and setting them free. Alex suffers from schizophrenia and she’s trying to set into a normal high school life. As we know, high school is not easy. She meets new people, lot of stuff happens, she falls in love, things get messed up, well, high school.

I felt like at the start there were many characters going around that I got a bit lost and I felt like this book was going to disappoint me. As the story develops and you start to figure things out and understand the characters better, I couldn’t stop reading. I couldn’t help but love the book.
Miles is Alex’s love interest. They are a blast together. They are the perfect fit for each other. I loved their chemistry and how they cared for each other.
The character development of each character was done very mature and brilliant. I dropped a few tears with the beautiful funny scene near the end, I hope you enjoy as much as I did. I loved the ending, very inspiring and superb.
Made You Up traits a different mental illness that is not depression, like we are so used to in the YA genre. It makes you aware of the struggles of people living with schizophrenia and how it is not impossible for them to carry a normal life. This is not a sad book, is a love book, it’s hope, it is overcoming our fears and knowing that there is people who cares.
If you are looking for a different book this one is for you.
Rest to say. Is this story real or part of Alex imagination? I say, it’s up to you to decide.
**An eARC of this title was provided by the publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. However, that did not influence this review in any way. All thoughts, quotes, and opinions will be of this version and not of the published edition.**

One comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s